Dieter’s Log, Day 3

It’s day 3.
I haven’t cheated, so there’s that. And I’m still attempting to keep a good attitude, which is huge. I could just let go and be full on mean, grouchy, and hangry.

a7f44b073d812522b5585e9c67034e08

One thing about The South Beach Diet – it instructs you NOT to go hungry. You don’t have to starve yourself, because you aren’t counting calories, you are changing the way you eat AND how your body processes what you eat. However, I still went to bed hungry last night and woke up ravenous this morning.

c6b6172ca179fdac4aced8b2a30d1c26

It wasn’t because I didn’t have anything to eat, it was just that what I had available wasn’t satisfying. I’ve been looking through recipes, and need to find some ideas for snacks and desserts. I miss dessert in the evening something fierce!

(sidenote: When you spend 2 hours at the grocery store, followed by 3 hours preparing for your upcoming diet on your Sunday afternoon, make sure you buy the SUGAR FREE fudge pops. Otherwise, that 2nd evening in, you’ll be sadly disappointed and your husband will be grumpy. Live and learn.)

When you think of cutting carbs, you think, “Ok, meat and veggies. I can do this.”  Even though I have a beautiful lifelong love affair with my carbs, I do like a variety of foods and am not a picky eater. But you also have to consider that when doing this type of eating plan, convenience foods are pretty much out. No cereal. No granola bars. No morning oatmeal. And honestly, I love eggs, but I’m already tired of having them for breakfast. There just isn’t a whole lot that’s easily doable when you’re getting 3 people breakfast and out the door.

So, I guess breakfast and dessert/snacks are my biggest challenge right now. The sugar free Jello isn’t cutting it so far.

I’m a bit out of sorts, probably due to frustration. (And the stupid week-long rain we have going.) I felt really great about myself Sunday when I was getting things ready for this week. I had shopped according to what we would be eating and thought I had done really well. But then you come to a point where you have food, but you aren’t sure how you want to prepare it to make it as satisfying as it can be. (And you discover that you screwed up where the fudge pops are concerned, and that’s seriously disappointing.)

9e76d9b967e8c60b49718d80aafd8349

I think this evening maybe I’ll make hamburgers with all the fixings except for the bun. Even though I’ll be missing the fries to go alongside, I’ll have lettuce, tomato, onions, mayo, cheese, and pickles. That actually sounds really good – yay, I can look forward to supper!

d5ff31eab4eaa361eb7b3819bc453467

Everyone needs something to look forward to! And hey, we’re almost 1/5 of the way through this first 2 weeks. So, there’s that. (Sarcasm disguised as optimism! Works for me! As long as I keep laughing, I’ll make it.)

8eb61fe1a8ba2a00c0dcd8159bb4738c

Leave a Reply

